Wed, December 06, 2023

Anthony Pepe Wins 10th Title

  • Oct 21, 2018

Anthony Pepe won his tenth NEBA title and second of 2018 at the DJ Pro Shop Open which was a special $55 entry tournament with $2,000 added to the prize fund.  The lefty qualified off the Sunday morning squad with 1266 which gave him a one round bye in match play. As the #6 seed, he defeated Hall of Famer George Tignor 216-215, Tyler Blanchet 227-174, Darren Andretta 245-223 and Gary Kurensky 236-206 in the semi-finals before meeting 17-time champion Bill Webb in the championship match.  Pepe took early control then went onto win 236-184 to become the 13th person to win double digits titles in the 55 year history of NEBA.  He joins Mike Lichstein (30), Alex Aguiar (22), Bill Webb (17), Chris Rebstock (14), Barry Warshafsky (14), Dave Forcier (12), Paul Moser (12), Jon Van Hees (12), Brian Boghosian (11), Todd Lathrop (11), Russ Michaud (10) and Tony Reynaud (10).  Pepe took home $1,000 and an entry into the Brunswick Tournament of Champions next month and Bill won $650.  Thank you to sponsor John Zawalick of DJ's Pro Shop in AMF Auburn Lanes.  

This weekend was also a Bowl for the Cure fundraiser.  An online donation page has been set up for those who still want to donate.  Click here to visit the NEBA Bowl for the Cure page.

  • Entries: 203
  • Cuts: 6PM(1179), 9AM(1186), 12:30PM(1175), At-Large(1155), Sr/SuperSr/Women(made Squad or at-large cuts)
  • Qualifiers: 48
  • High Qualifier: Chris Monroy (1299)

Tweets by @BowlNEBA