Tue, April 16, 2024

KR Strikeforce Doubles winners pull off a repeat from 2023 !!!

  • Feb 27, 2024

Rich Reynolds picks up NEBA Title # 5. In contrast, his partner, Paul Smith, picks up NEBA Title # 4 by defending their title, winning this year's KR Strikeforce Doubles on Sunday, February 25, 2024, at East Providence Lanes in Rumford, RI.

106 Teams (212 bowlers) competed in this year’s NEBA Doubles event.  We had 24 teams advance into match-play finals, with the top eight teams getting a one-round bye. The team of Cavagnaro & Williams qualified First with a score of 2538 (plus 538). Rich and Paul qualified 17th from a spot in the at-large, however that was not going to stop them from running the bracket to successfully defend their title for the second year in a row. In their first match, they narrowly defeated the Cavagnaro & Wiliams 443 to 438 team, moving them to round three, where they met the team of Bil Webb and Joe DiPetto, who lost to the champions 527 to 467. On to the semi-finals, Rich and Paul faced off against Mike Rose and Alex Aguiar, whom they defeated 570 to 483 to find themselves back in the title match and bowling the team of Joey Transue and Peter Licata. With the title on the line, Paul Smith and Rich Reynolds defeated their opponents 518 to 429 for the second year. Can they do a three-peat in 2025? Time will tell.

We want to thank KR Strikeforce for the continued support of NEBA and the sport of bowling.

Our next tournament will be our Bowl Winkles Pro Shop Open, presented by Ace Mitchell, hosted at Bowlero HOF Silver Lanes in East Hartford, CT, on Saturday, March 16th, and Sunday, March 17, 2024.

This is also the third stop of the Paul Forry Memorial Cup Series where the top 8 bowlers on Sunday will qualify to participate for a chance in the $10,000 prize fund, thank you to the Forry family for all your support over many years.

  • Entries: 106 Teams (212 Bowlers)
  • Cuts: 9 AM (2378), 12:30 PM (2243), At-Large (2353)
  • Qualifiers: 24 Teams
  • High Qualifier: Fero Williams / Alex Cavagnaro (2538)