Thu, February 29, 2024

Stephen Dale Jr. Becomes 14th Person to Win Ten Titles

  • Mar 11, 2019

Stephen Dale Jr. won his 10th title at the Ken's Bowl Open to become the 14th person in NEBA history to reach double digit wins.  He joins the elite list of Mike Lichstein, Alex Aguiar, Bill Webb, Chris Rebstock, Barry Warshafsky, Brian Boghosian, Dave Forcier, Paul Moser, Jonathan Van Hees, Todd Lathrop, Anthony Pepe, Russ Michaud and Tony Reynaud in the record books.  At Ken's Bowl, Stephen qualified for match play earning a guaranteed spot on the Sunday morning squad with 1080.  As the #18 seed, he defeated Mandi Fournier 172-155, Jon Wilbur 233-172, Mark Bouchard 203-176, Nathan Ruest-Lajoie 197-196 and Frankie Calca 210-184 in the semi-finals for a spot in the championship match against Shane Holt.  Stephen took the early lead after Shane split in the second frame then strung strikes to increase the lead to 31 pins by the fifth frame.  Shane struck from the fifth to ninth frame to bring the deficit down to ten pins going into the tenth frame.  With both bowlers working on strikes, Stephen finished first needing a double to lock up the win.  He left a ten pin then missed it giving Shane the chance to win with nine spare / strike.  Shane went high for a seven count to give Stephen his tenth title.  He won $1,450 for the win and Shane took home $960 for his runner-up finish.

The Ken's Bowl Open was also the first stop of the $2,500 women's cup series.  Eighteen women combined for twenty-six entries with four advancing to match play.  Sponsor Joanne Herman presented the 2018 Women's Cup to Lauren Hoffman.

Thank you to Ken's Bowl for their support and to the staff at Ken's Bowl for hosting the event this weekend.

  • Entries: 195
  • Cuts: 6PM (989), 9AM (1060), 12:30PM (1051), SuperSr (938), Women (954), At-Large (1043), Sr made squad cuts
  • Qualifiers: 48
  • High Qualifier: Josh Corum (1224)